bts logo
herrick society logo

The Herrick Society Committee

The Herrick Society Committee are voted for by members at the annual meeting, held at the British Transplant Society congress each year. Committee members must be members of the Herrick Society. Posts generally last for 2 years.

Dominic Summers


[email protected]

Dom is a clinical lecturer in transplant and general surgery in the Eastern region. His clinical interests include kidney, pancreas and vascular access surgery and has research interests in DCD donation, ‘big data’ and clinical trial design. He was formerly the Herrick Society Secretary

Mekhola Hoff


[email protected]

Mekhola is an ST7/8 in transplant surgery in Cambridge, where she also completed her PhD in transplant immunology. Her clinical interests are kidney and pancreas transplantation, vascular access and multi-organ retrieval. Her research interests include cell therapy, organ resuscitation and regeneration. She is a former winner of both the Medawar Medal and the Patey Prize.

Please e-mail [email protected] with any administrative queries.

Ruth Owen

Ruth Owen

[email protected]

Ruth is an academic foundation doctor in Newcastle University, undertaking research in transplantation. She has formerly been the President of the Newcastle University Surgical Society and has an interest in the impact of BMI on pancreas transplantation. Prior to medical school, she worked for the accounting firm Ernst and Young

Rachel Thomas

ASIT representative

[email protected]

Rachel is an StR7 Transplant Surgery in Edinburgh and looks forward to joining the Herrick Society committee as ASIT rep and to work supporting transplant trainees. Rachel has worked in Glasgow and Edinburgh transplant units and recently gained my FRCS qualification to join the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow. Her clinical interests are in renal and pancreas transplant and research interests are in ischaemia reperfusion injury and she is currently an investigator for the HOT2 study looking at ways to ameliorate IRI in deceased donor renal transplant.

In addition, Rachel is a mother of two children and train less than full time. From this experience, Rachel is well placed to speak for trainees with additional commitments and offer advice on prioritisation and development of surgical skills using available opportunities. As with so many of us, Rachel is very understanding of the hours demanded by transplant surgery and the importance of promoting good work-life balance for healthy lifelong working and avoid burnout. Rachel looks forward to meeting many of you all at meetings and conferences and working together.

Emily Thompson

Research Lead

[email protected]

Emily is an ST4 surgical ACF trainee in Newcastle. She is currently undertaking a PhD in Newcastle researching the delivery of cell-based therapeutics to kidney transplants, using and ex-vivo normothermic perfusion model. She is the recipient of the Leonard da Vinci Transplant Research Innovation Award at ESOT 2019

She is looking forward to continuing the excellent work of the research collaborative and would welcome ideas or questions.

Tom Nieto

Training representative

[email protected]

Tom is a ST7 General Surgical Trainee with a specialist interest in Renal Transplantation based in the West Midlands deanery. He has completed a PhD at the University of Birmingham and his ongoing research interests include rapid beside HLA genotyping and next generation sequencing in assessment for transplantation.

Shruti Mittal

Training representative
Shruti Mittal

[email protected]

Shruti is a general surgery and transplant clinical lecturer in Oxford. She has completed her PhD at the University of Oxford and her research interests include improving outcomes after pancreas transplantation and metabolic assessment of pancreas graft function. Her clinical interests include pancreas and kidney transplantation, vascular access and multi-organ retrieval.

Hannah Maple

ESOT representative

[email protected]

Hannah is a ST8 and Clinical Lecturer in transplant and general surgery within the London Deanery. She was awarded her PhD by King’s College London in 2015. Her research interests include psychological outcomes after living donation and transplantation, and the impact of psychological factors on physical recovery from surgery. She is Principal Investigator on the BOUnD study, which aims to provide a comprehensive assessment of the unspecified donor programme in the UK from the perspective of both donors and transplant professionals.

In 2019 she was elected vice-chair (and chair elect) of ELPAT - the official section of the European Society for Organ Transplantation (ESOT) dedicated to the ethical, legal and psychosocial aspects of organ transplantation, which consists of over 160 experts from more than 25 European countries and has over 450 members.

Matthew Byrne

Core Training Representative

[email protected]

Matt is an academic clinical fellow in Oxford, and completed an academic foundation program in transplantation in Cambridge. He is most passionate about organ donation and founded an educational charity called We Are Donors to help promote informed choices in school children. As part of the Herrick Society, Matt hopes to improve access to learning and career development opportunities in transplantation for junior trainees.

Gillian Hardman

Cardiothoracic Representative

[email protected]

Gill is an ST7 in Cardiothoracic Surgery in the North West. Her clinical interests include adult Cardiac surgery and she is a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh. She is the NHSBT Clinical Research Fellow in Cardiothoracic Transplantation, based at the Freeman Hospital and is a PhD candidate at Newcastle University with work aiming to improve organ utilisation in UK lung transplantation. Her research interests include surgical psychology, behaviour change and Human Factors.

In 2018 she completed her MSc in Medical Education at the University of Manchester. She is a faculty member of the RCSed Non-technical Skills for Surgeons (NOTSS) course and is keen to develop Human factors training within transplantation. She has recently been elected to the RCSed Trainees’ committee and plays an active role in the Society for Cardiothoracic Surgery in Great Britain and Ireland (SCTS).

Gill is looking forward to working with the Herrick society to improve the representation of Cardiothoracic surgery in transplantation, grow the cardiothoracic membership and, more importantly, increase collaborative working between the transplant specialties.